Toast the Season With Gluten-Free Beers, Adult Beverages
on 16/12/11 at 11:13 amBooze News
The final days of 2011 are here and I’m thinking many of us are planning on having a few adult beverages to mark the occasion. I also was thinking of making some special cocktails to enjoy with friends, inspired by my favorite show, Mad Men and the list of old-time drinks here.
But, here are some questions I have to consider: What kinds of grains are used to produce alcohol and what does that mean for adults who are gluten-free?
Here is what I found out:
- Most distilled alcohols don’t bother most people with celiac. They are reported on celiac.com to be gluten-free. Ferndale’s Valentine Vodka is made with locally grown Red Michigan wheat, barley and corn, so enjoy at your own risk. But, because it is distilled, it should be enjoyable by those with gluten sensitivity! For those with high sensitivities, an alternative, such as Tito’s Vodka made in Texas, may be sought. There is just one place to buy the brand in Michigan, NWS Michigan, Inc. in Brownstown. However, Zodiac vodka is widely available and is made of potatoes. Vermouth is made of grapes for martini drinkers.
- Generally, wine and champagne are gluten-free. Some report that wine produced in barrels outside the U.S. may come into contact with flour, but it is generally safe. Wine coolers are not gluten-free.
- Scotch whiskey is reported to be gluten-free, which was interesting to me since this is an alcohol made of barley! But, several associations report that when the alcohol is distilled, gluten in the barley is removed. Maker’s Mark is a gluten-free bourbon.
- Some cheaper tequilas are not gluten-free, although they are made of agave. Check with the manufacturer to be sure. Cuervo products and margarita mixes are gluten-free.